Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Foundation for Women’s Wellness (FWW) Fellowship Award

Fellowships to USA Individuals at Qualifying Academic
Institutions for Research on Women's Health

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Foundation for Women’s Wellness (FWW)

Deadline Date:

04/05/19 11:59 PM MST


Request a Grant Writer

Fellowships of $5,000 to USA individuals who currently hold or are pursuing an MD or PhD to carry out research related to women’s health. Research must be implemented at a U.S.-based institution. Priority research areas include, but are not limited to, female cancers, cardiovascular disease, and health concerns that primarily affect women. Funding is intended to acknowledge the work of individual awardees and to support their academic, training, and research success and pursuits.

FWW Fellowship Awards favor individuals with strong academic records and research/career indications of a commitment to research in a women’s health discipline. The latter is determined by research success and experience in publishing and/or presenting research work; honors and awards; and supervisor feedback.

Research should be related to FWW priority areas which are:
-Cardiovascular disease
-Leading female cancers
-Hormones’ role in disease and stage-of-life health concerns
-Diseases or health concerns that disproportionately afflict women
-Exploration of gender differences related to the aforementioned topics

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 183511

Estimated Size of Grant:

$5,000 will be provided directly to the awardee.

Term of Contract:

Awards are made on a one-time, non-recurring basis.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

-Applicants must be currently and/or pursuing an MD and/or PhD at a U.S. based academic institution and must still be in the process of completing his/her education or medical training (specialty training, fellowship, or the like).
-FWW does not fund sociological or population-related research; our focus is on basic, clinical or epidemiological lines of inquiry.
-Applicant’s research proposal submitted in this application is being conducted at a U.S.-based medical institution.
-Applicants may or may not be United States citizens but all applicants must have a social security number. Award checks are issued to the individual awardee and are therefore subject to personal income tax.

Only one application per applicant. There is no limit on the number of applications from any one medical institution/organization.

Pre-Application Information:

The application deadline is April 5 at 11:59 PM MST.

ED will contact applicants via telephone or e-mail if questions or clarification are needed. ED will notify all applicants of decision status via e-mail once finalists have been chosen. Top ranking finalists and their supervisors will be interviewed via telephone.

Because the number of applications varies each year, the exact decision date is not fixed but is generally made within 3-5 months of the deadline date. Final awardees will be notified via phone and checks issued no later than the end of the year.




Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply Online:

Sharon Cravitz, Executive Director

General Questions:

Denver Office:
1000 South Race Street
Denver, CO 80209
Phone: 303.548.0595

New York Office:
Office of Lila E. Nachtigall, MD
251 East 33rd Street, 5th Floor
New York, NY 10016

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming